Experimental Sound for Silents: Film and Music on the Walker Hillside

Liz Larner, 'X'


Walker Art Center
1750 Hennepin Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
(612) 375-7600


For this special Walker commission, Ryan Olson (Poliça, Gayngs) and his all-star ensemble Marijuana Deathsquads including Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Benson Ramsey (The Pines), and Channy Leaneagh (Poliça), present intriguing and new live cinematic scores set to 1920s experimental short films by iconic Dada artists Hans Richter, Viking Eggeling, and Rene Clair. The films are drawn from the Walker’s Ruben/Bentson Moving Image Collection. Sound for Silents: Film + Music on the Walker Hillside is free and takes place Thursday, August 17, at dusk (about 8:30 pm). DJ Sean McPherson from 89.3 The Current will spin before the band. Food available for purchase from Foxy Falafel, Hot Indian Foods and Fro Yo Soul.

7:00 PM DJ and Food Trucks
8:30 PM Screening and Performance

The Sound for Silents full band line-up features:

Justin Vernon: guitar/electronics/vocals (Bon Iver)
Benson Ramsey: guitar/electronics/vocals (The Pines)
Jake Luppen: guitar/vocals (Hippo Campus)
Isaac Gale: vocals/synths (MDS)
Mark McGee: electronics (MDS)
Channy Leaneagh: vocals (Poliça)
Ben Ivascu: drums (MDS)
Mark Jorgensen: drums (MDS)
Drew Christopherson: drums (Poliça)
Trever Hagen: (MDS)
Ryan Olson: Conductor (MDS)