Classical Minnesota Varsity 2019 Showcase Concert


Ted Mann Concert Hall
2128 4th St. S
Minneapolis, MN 55455
(612) 624-2345


Classical MPR is excited to announce the Showcase Artists for the ninth annual Minnesota Varsity classical music showcase for instrumentalists, vocalists and composers, which will be held on Saturday, May 11 at 3 p.m. at Ted Mann Concert Hall. The following performers and composers have been selected from across the state to take part in the live showcase concert: Minnesota Varsity 2019 Showcase Artists • Elizabeth Kleiber, flute, Hudson, Wisconsin • Lauren Senden, voice, North Mankato, Minnesota • Emma Taggart, piano, Blaine, Minnesota • Shuen Wu, piano, Woodbury, Minnesota Showcase Artist by Audience Vote • Beatrice Grant, piano, Waconia, Minnesota Minnesota Varsity 2019 Showcase Composers selected by ACF • Daniel Fleury, Rochester • Ian Handeland, Dayton To participate in Minnesota Varsity, musicians ages 14-18 from around the region were asked to submit a recording of themselves performing. Student composers (also ages 14-18) were invited to submit an original score for violin, cello and piano or any solo or combination of those instruments. For the seventh year, American Composers Forum (ACF) is a partner with MPR in the composition category. The student musicians received a professional recording session at MPR’s studios and their music was broadcast on Classical MPR in March. The Featured Composers participated in a composer workshop with musicians Irina Stene, piano, Hocheol Shin, cello, Mary Alice Hutton, violin, and mentor Edie Hill at American Composer Forum’s headquarters at the Landmark Center. Over the past month, the public has participated in an online Audience Vote at and chose one of the Showcase Artists. ACF selected two Showcase Composers in March. TUNE IN: Classical MPR can be heard in the Twin Cities on KSJN 99.5 FM. A complete list of Classical MPR stations can be accessed online: go to and click on "stations.” The concert will also be streamed live at Minnesota Varsity is supported by the generosity of these foundations and individuals: Kay and Gerry Erickson; Margaret H. and James E. Kelley Foundation; Andy Kiorpes; Ms. Farrel Rich; Ed and Jenni Ryan; Saunders Therapy Centers; Kay Savik and Joe Tashjian; Bob and Jean Spong; the Irma Wyman Endowment for Classical Education; and, our Sun-up Friends.