Live stream #METOOMPLS Album Release

Sponsored by 89.3 The Current

#METOOMPLS Album Release September 24, 2020



Virtual streaming live performance from MN based artists: Creating songs to raise Minneapolis/MN women's voices; Supporting sexual assault survivors; Raising funds for Planned Parenthood. Tickets are $25 and available soon.

The headliners are: Tina Schlieske, Mayda and Sarah Morris who will each perform a 30 min set live, and the rest of the lovely artists from the compilation Ashleigh Still, Lydia Liza, Mary Bue, Annie Mack, Linnea Mohn, Chastity Brown, Ang Oase, Annie Fitzgerald, Elska, r0, Katy Vernon, Kara Laudon, Averil Bach and JØUR will be performing their new single we pre-recorded live at Hook and Ladder that will be edited into the live stream performance.

This Minnesota Women/Femmes/Trans/Non-Binary Folk songwriting collective was started in late 2019, with the following objectives: Creating songs to raise Minneapolis Women/Femmes/Trans/Non-Binary Folk voices; Supporting sexual assault survivors; Raising funds for Planned Parenthood. All the songwriters involved were asked to write and record an original song on the subject of #MeToo. Without any further guidelines, the artists delivered songs ranging from heartbreaking songs about surviving sexual assault to inspiring songs about feminist icons and their influence on their lives.

Origins of #MeToo: The #MeToo movement was started by Tarana Burke in 2006 and was begun as a way to support empowerment through empathy of women of color who had been sexually abused. Origins of #MeTooMpls: In August of 2019, after seeing sexual assault and discrimination stories, shared by Women/Femmes/Trans/Non-Binary Folk artists in the Minneapolis music scene, this project was created as a way to support victims, raise voices and awareness, and to help fund the profoundly important work that Planned Parenthood does.

The artists and their songs:
Ashleigh Still - Not Fuckin' Around
Lydia Liza - Apple in My Pocket
Mary Bue - How to Forgive Your Rapist
Sarah Morris - Like It's Gospel
Annie Mack - Judge and Jury
Linnea Mohn - A Part
Mayda - Oxygen Tank
Tina Schlieske - What Would You Pay (Dear Harvey)
Chastity Brown - Afraid of the Night
Ang Oase (ft. Christin Light) - Breakup Song
Annie Fitzgerald - I Know That Sound
Elska - On the Shoulders of Giants
r0 (Static Panic) - Sides to Lonely
Katy Vernon - Shine
Kara Laudon - I Do
Averil Bach - Radiation Blues
JØUR - Won't Stop Me Now

The album’s artists and supporting team want to recognize the impactful way that systemic racism influences and affects all people in our society, in particular the negative effects it has on our brothers and sisters of color. Though diversity was a consideration from the beginning of this project and the members did their best to raise all women’s voices, we acknowledge the lack of parity in representation by our fellow musicians of color.

The end result is a powerful collection of vividly written original songs lovingly crafted in the pursuits of agency and equality.