The Shins announce first album in nearly five years, hear 'Name For You'


The Shins
James Mercer of the Shins (Nikki Fenix)

The Shins are back with the group's first new album since 2012's Port of Morrow. Heartworms is set to drop on March 10 on Aural Apothecary/Columbia Records. In making the announcement today, the band shared the joyfully infectious pop cut "Name For You" and a lyric video.

Frontman James Mercer produced Heartworms on his own, a first since the Shins' 2001 debut album, Oh, Inverted World. He says the new music was inspired, in part, by growing older and parenthood. "Name For You" is a hopeful ode of empowerment to Mercer's daughters.

"Given all the drops in the ocean, better take it one sip at a time," Mercer sings. "Somebody with an antique notion comes along to tighten the line, they're just afraid of you speaking your mind."

This is the second song the band has shared from Heartworms. In October, The Shins released a Halloween-themed video for the song "Dead Alive."

Heartworms Tracklist:

1. "Name for You"
2. "Painting a Hole"
3. "Cherry Hearts"
4. "Fantasy Island"
5. "Mildenhall"
6. "Rubber Ballz"
7. "Half a Million"
8. "Dead Alive"
9. "Heartworms"
10. "So Now What"
11. "The Fear"

Related Stories

  • What's New on The Current: The Shins, Bash and Pop, Bowie Jade shares the "Dead Alive" from the Shins off their forthcoming 2017 album, the latest from Bash & Pop -- Tommy Stinson's band that has a knack for releasing albums after the Replacements break up --and one of the last songs David Bowie wrote and recorded for the off-Broadway musical 'Lazarus.'

comments powered by Disqus