The Current

Great Music Lives Here ®
Listener-Supported Music
Donate Now
Live From The Current Studio

jeremy messersmith shares 'Little Blue World' for MPR's 50th

jeremy messersmith
jeremy messersmithMPR Photo / Nate Ryan
  Play Now [2:43]

January 20, 2017

jeremy messersmith talks with Brian Oake and Jill Riley
by MPR

jeremy messersmith wrote a song to help Minnesota Public Radio — our parent organization — celebrate its 50th anniversary. He brought in some of the best and brightest local artists to bring the song to life, and now we're thrilled to share it with you.

The actual anniversary of Minnesota Public Radio's first broadcast is January 22, 1967, so on Sunday, we'll be playing a list of 50 songs from 50 years from 1 – 5 p.m.

Beyond this weekend, we'll be celebrating all year long with our sister stations MPR News and Classical MPR. All activity can be found at And speaking of anniversaries, you can help celebrate The Current's 12th anniversary on January 27 (with jeremy messersmith!) and 28.


Erik Berry (Trampled by Turtles), mandolin
Chastity Brown, vocals
PaviElle, vocals
DeVon Gray (Heiruspecs), piano
John Hermanson (Storyhill, Alva Star, Hopefuls), acoustic guitar
Grady Keneven (Jeremy Messersmith), percussion
Cameron Kinghorn (Black Market Brass, Nooky Jones), vocals
Chris Koza, vocals
Eamonn McLain (Trampled by Turtles), cello
Jim McGuinn, electric guitar
jeremy messersmith, vocals
John Munson, bass
Zach Scanlan, violin
Davu Seru, drums
Andy Thompson, arranger, piano


Ben Lubeck
Jay Smart
Aaron Marakson
Joey Ryan
Vaughn Ormseth
Randall Thompson
Emily Haavik
Gerry Abrams
Brian Newhouse
Jay Gabler
Mindy Ratner
Julie Amacher
Suzanne Pekow
Jamie Ziemann
Brenna Everson
Bridget Murphy
Tessa Glade
Linda Singh
Janey Winterbauer
Andrea Blain