First Listen: Valerie June, 'The Order Of Time'

Valerie June
Valerie June (Danny Clinch / Courtesy of the artist)

"As of this writing, I am sixty-one years old in chronology," the novelist Madeleine L'Engle once mused. "But I am not an isolated, chronological numerical statistic. I am sixty-one, and I am also four, and twelve, and fifteen, and twenty-three, and thirty-one, and forty-five, and… and… and…"

It's not entirely surprising that the author of the beloved YA fantasy A Wrinkle in Time would have had such imaginative notions of how past and present fold into each other: "If we lose any part of ourselves," she concluded, "we are thereby diminished. If I cannot be thirteen and sixty-one simultaneously, part of me has been taken away."

But it's not easy to live out that awareness. Valerie June recognizes that treating time as an immutable constant that can also be toyed with, made to telescope, eddy or unfurl in one's mind, requires a certain willfulness. She puts that esoteric wisdom to captivating use on her new album, The Order of Time, the long-awaited follow up to Pushin' Against a Stone, which introduced her singularly expansive vision of roots music to audiences across Europe and the U.S.

As a small-town Tennessee kid, she made a study of varied voices in the Church of Christ congregations her family attended, planting herself in the pew next to singers male and female, young and old, black and white — those who pushed the notes of the old a cappella hymns from their nasal cavities, from the backs of their throats or from deep in their chests. By now, June's developed an inviting, inscrutable drawl that seems to encapsulate all of those possibilities, youth and agedness and everything between; on some tracks, her singing family members, and her friend Norah Jones, serve as kindred spirits. June glides between cool resilience and needling in the southern soul number "Love You Once Made." In "If And," she resists the pull of the droning horns and harmonium, before allowing herself to yield to their pulsating pattern. In "Long Lonely Road," her phrasing is as assiduous as it is easeful, serenely persevering through the protracted, humid curlicues of her hill country blues-influenced melody.

Each of those songs, written by June alone, are suffused with nostalgia or idealism that's also strikingly grounded. She gives emotional weight to the work that goes into sustaining and stabilizing domestic lives. Nowhere is that clearer than the murmured second verse of "Long and Lonely Road": "Pops earned his bread in dust / but his hard working hands fed us / Sun up to sun sink down / His body worked to the ground / Folks thought we had it made / 'cause we always kept a face / Meanwhile there's bills to pay / and the stack growing everyday."

For June, labor, longing and reverie exist side by side. "Astral Plane," whose lyrics were originally intended for Massive Attack, is a vision of turning inward to find transcendence, while "Front Door" is a melancholy meditation on the way that an entrance to intimacy can become an escape from it. Producer Matt Marinelli embellished those tracks and others with ambient flourishes that had previously only existed in June's head — cursive string passages and drifting, pearlescent mists of pedal steel, electric guitar, organ and xylophone. The result is a marvel of mindfulness. Rambling yet precise, regal yet downhome, earthy yet mystical, June's musical imagination is a world to get lost in.

The Order Of Time is out March 10 on Concord Records.

Track List

  1. Long Lonely Road

  2. Love You Once Made

  3. Shake Down

  4. If And

  5. Man Done Wrong

  6. The Front Door

  7. Astral Plane

  8. Just In Time

  9. With You

  10. Slip Slide On By

  11. Two Hearts

  12. Got Soul

Copyright 2017 NPR. To see more, visit


Valerie June - official site

Related Stories

  • Valerie June plays songs from her upcoming album, 'The Order of Time' For Valerie June, songs are like living things. 'They never leave my head and my heart,' June says. 'Once a song is born and it comes to me, then it can stay with me.' Her next album, 'The Order of Time,' comes out March 10, 2017. On a recent visit to The Current, Valerie June chatted with Brian Oake and Jill Riley, and she performed three new songs from the forthcoming record.
  • Valerie June performs live in The Current studios The Tennessee singer-songwriter feels a deep connection — if not responsibility — to the great musical traditions of Memphis. She describes this and more during her in-studio chat with The Current's Mac Wilson.
  • Rock the Garden 2014 Rock the Garden has come and gone, but after ten bands, thousands of people and countless smiles, we can say that the Garden has officially been rocked. Find all the coverage here, and tune in this weekend to hear our Rock the Garden broadcast.
  • The Current's Guitar Collection: Valerie June Valerie June visited The Current's studio on August 10, 2013, to play a few songs and to chat with Mac Wilson. After the session, the Memphis singer-songwriter took some time to talk about her then-new acoustic guitar and the mystical connection she felt with it. Valerie June plays Rock the Garden on Sunday, June 22, 2014.

1 Photos

  • Valerie June, 'The Order of Time'
    Valerie June, 'The Order of Time' (Concord Records)