DJ Pick of the Week: Arcade Fire, 'Creature Comfort'


Arcade Fire, 'Everything Now'
Arcade Fire, 'Everything Now' (Guy Aroch)

My DJ pick of the week is "Creature Comfort" from the new Arcade Fire album, Everything Now. This is absolutely my favorite song from the new record; it's hooky and danceable, but with dark and meaningful lyrics. For anyone who has ever felt the pressure to conform to the unrealistic expectations from society (which is, I'm guessing, every warmed-blooded human being), you'll relate to this song's message in a big way. The combination of the music and lyrics in "Creature Comfort" makes me want to push back and take a stand against those societal expectations of perfection, even though the pressure never seems to go away. It's just a matter of what creature comforts help us to numb the pain.

Some boys hate themselves
Spend their lives resenting their fathers
Some girls hate their bodies
Stand in the mirror and wait for the feedback
Saying God, make me famous
If you can't just make it painless
Just make it painless

- Arcade Fire "Creature Comfort"


Arcade Fire - Official Site

Related Stories

  • Album of the Week: Arcade Fire, 'Everything Now' For a band who are hyperconscious of their image and place in the music industry, Arcade Fire's official major-label debut is possibly their most accessible album yet.
  • Interview: Bryce Dessner and Richard Reed Parry The National guitarist and composer Bryce Dessner and multi-instrumentalist Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire chatted with host Mark Wheat about two unique shows at the Walker Art Center as a part of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra's Liquid Music Series.
  • Arcade Fire, live from First Avenue, Sept. 29, 2005 Almost one year exactly after their debut record <em>Funeral</em> released, Arcade Fire made their second Twin Cities stop in Minneapolis for a sold out show in First Avenue's mainroom. The Current was there to roll tape, and now you can relive one of the most talked about shows among Arcade Fire fanatics nearly 10 years after its recording.
  • Album review: Arcade Fire, 'Reflektor' Arcade Fire's new album <i>Reflektor</i> is a 75-minute, two-disc hot mess. And it's a whole lot of fun.
  • Album Review: Arcade Fire - The Suburbs Is it just me, or does the release of Arcade Fire's third full length album "The Suburbs" feel like the biggest moment in indie rock since Radiohead dropped "OK Computer" on us back in 1997?
  • Theft of the Dial: Arcade Fire Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire stopped by the Current studio for another edition of Theft of the Dial. He brought a playlist and shared his DJ skills before the recent Arcade Fire show at the Roy Wilkins Auditorium. We also talked about our shared love of The Price is Right.

1 Photos

  • Arcade Fire - Everything Now
    Arcade Fire - Everything Now (Columbia Records)

comments powered by Disqus