New music: Surf punks FIJI-13 share 'Splash Rash / Ragin' Love'


FIJI-13 'Heavy Breathing' cover art
FIJI-13 'Heavy Breathing' cover art (FIJI-13)
FIJI-13 - Splash Rash / Ragin' Love
Download MP3
| 00:03:30

FIJI-13 are Heidi James (guitar/vocals), Hilary James (bass/vocals), and Steve Crowley (drums), and they have new music to share. The surf-punk trio are set to release their new EP, Heavy Breathing, on Friday. They've dropped a couple of tracks -- "Mansplain It To Me bb" and now, "Splash Rash / Ragin' Love" -- ahead of the whole EP.

To say it's just been a couple of songs is sort of misleading; the new one, "Splash Rash / Ragin' Love," combines two short pieces, starting with a leisurely instrumental and shifting into a sharp-laden song about love's power over people. Like Lorde's "Hard Feelings / Loveless" from Melodrama, FIJI-13's two-fer contrasts tempos and flavors of angst.

Find Heavy Breathing online and in select local stores on Friday, and catch FIJI-13, Lunch Duchess, 4th Curtis, Gully Boys, and Real Dom at the Triple Rock on Oct. 14.

1 Photos

  • FIJI-13 promo photo
    FIJI-13 promo photo (FIJI-13)