Observe Women's History Month with The Current

Women's History Month artwork 1500x750
Observe Women's History Month with The Current. (MPR graphic)

Each weekday in March, we're paying tribute to a different musical icon in honor of Women's History Month. We'll feature tons of music, and we'll hear Musicheads Essentials features that explore the lives and careers of artists like Tina Turner, Dolly Parton, Jackie Shane, and Joni Mitchell, as well as tracks from their catalogs.

Schedule

WEEK ONE
Monday, March 1 - PJ Harvey
Tuesday, March 2 - Tina Turner
Wednesday, March 3 - Lucinda Williams
Thursday, March 4 - Ella Fitzgerald
Friday, March 5 - Brandi Carlile

WEEK TWO
Monday, March 8 - Loretta Lynn
Tuesday, March 9 - Amy Winehouse
Wednesday, March 10 - Mavis Staples
Thursday, March 11 - Joan Jett
Friday, March 12 - Dolly Parton

WEEK THREE
Monday, March 15 - Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Tuesday, March 16 - Fiona Apple
Wednesday, March 17 - Jackie Shane
Thursday, March 18 - Jenny Lewis
Friday, March 19 - Patti Smith

WEEK FOUR
Monday, March 22 - Etta James
Tuesday, March 23 - Debbie Harry
Wednesday, March 24 - Joni Mitchell
Thursday, March 25 - Sleater-Kinney
Friday, March 26 - Aretha Franklin

WEEK FIVE
Monday, March 29 - Billie Holiday
Tuesday, March 30 - Billie Eilish
Wednesday, March 31 - Laura Jane Grace

Women's History Month on The Current is supported by The Law Firm of Best & Flanagan.

Best and Flanagan logo
Women's History Month on The Current is supported by The Law Firm of Best & Flanagan. (provided)


Bookmark this feature; each day, links to Musicheads Essentials features will be added above.


comments powered by Disqus